Forward moving

I’m stressed the eff out right now.  New job, wisdom teeth removal, and a new living situation that requires me to cull down a one bedroom apartment to literally one bedroom…all in the span of three weeks….um yeah, this has been a dumb plan.

But I do love me some chaos (obviously) so I shouldn’t complain to much.

And I don’t think about how the stress is getting to me…until I get a text a from THE old boyfriend…the bartender.  And it throws my whole world out of wack.

He says “Any chance you want to go out for coffee tonight or tomorrow?  I’m off both nights”.

And I’m thinking “Shit”.

Because the reality is that yeah, I’d love to go to coffee and I’d love to just jump right back into being in a relationship with him…because a boyfriend now would be wonderful.  I’d love to have someone to share this stress with. 

But I know the reality of a relationship with him.  Thankfully Nikki calls before I can make up my mind on what or if I even will text back.

She says “Don’t do it.  It’s been 2 years and he hasn’t moved.  His life is still the name.  Everything you do is about moving forward and making yourself better.  If you go back to that, it’ll stop you in your tracks.”

Those words were crystal clear to me.  I’ve never thought of this situation in that light.   I don’t want to forget how clear my decision was at that moment.

So I went to swim practice and confirmed my packing plans for tomorrow night.

PS: So I’ve been trying to figure out how this applies to Newton’s laws of motion.  Best I can tell, it matches the first law:

Newton’s first law: law of inertia

Lex I: Corpus omne perseverare in statu suo quiescendi vel movendi uniformiter in directum, nisi quatenus a viribus impressis cogitur statum illum mutare. Every body perseveres in its state of being at rest or of moving uniformly straight forward, except insofar as it is compelled to change its state by force impressed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ex Files

Leave a Reply

