25 random things about me that are of no particular importance

1. I’m modifying this post from my Facebook post.  I was asked to write 25 random things about myself. 

 2. My pastor and 79 year old aunt are on Facebook.  They both joined this week.  It makes me beyond happy they are on the site.

 3. I live with three guy roommates.  I think that they are my Higher Power’s way of preparing me for marriage.

 4. Annabelle Blanche has nothing that is monogrammed, but that’s because I am too cheap to buy it, not because I think it’s ridiculous for a dog to have something that is monogrammed. I think that would be awesome!

 5. I am very lucky in that I have truly amazing and supportive girlfriends. I feel like I have more than my fair share but as an only child, I don’t so much want to share my friends!  I’m not kidding, these are some seriously amazing women that I have in my life.

 6. I love my job, a lot.

 7. About once a month I have  “clean sheet night”.  I wash all the linens (including the duvet) on my bed, take a shower, wash my hair,  bathe Annabelle Blanche, and put on clean pajamas.  It’s the best sleep ever.

 8. I love weddings and I love talking about weddings to anyone at anytime.  I love to brainstorm ideas with brides.  It’s nice to not have any kind of stake in their plans, but to just be a sounding board.  

 9. During the past month I have made the following friends:  (1) a girl on the airplane home from Christmas (2) a girl from my audition group that is now in my FIST improv team. 

 9. I have had 3 ipods die/disappear while under my care.  The first and my most favorite, I left in an airplane while coming home for Christmas in 2007.  I bought a newer version from someone off of craigslist in the spring of 2008…a few months later my water bottle came loose and spilled water all over the bottom of my purse.  My third version was a shuffle that my Dad had bought for me in Christmas of 2007.  I washed it when I moved into my new place.  I am obviously worse than a 13 boy when it comes to taking care of my electronics.  That said, I’m planning to buy a new ipod nano….tomorrow!

 10. I keep my emotions close to the surface.  I’m quick to cry, quick to laugh, quick to have my feelings hurt, quick to fall in love with someone/something, quick to tell you what I think about you, quick to tell my friends how much I love them, etc.

 11. My first improv class was Thursday, April 19, 2007.

 12. I have two masters (an MPH from UAB and an MSW from U of AL).  I want a PhD, but I don’t know what I want to study.

 13.Country music songs about redemption make me teary, including but not limited to “Three Wooden Crosses” by Randy Travis, “I’ve had my Moments” by Emerson Drive, “Letters from Home” by John Micheal Montgomery, and “Traveling Soldier” by the Dixie Chicks.  I will inevitably tear up when I hear these songs.

 14. Songs by Randy Travis and Aaron Copeland remind me of my Dad and the long car rides where I sat in the back seat of the green Cougar, while my parents drove us from Slidell, LA to Gulf Shores, AL for summer vacations.

 15. I think my higher power speaks to me through songs…particularly Bob Marley songs.  I’ve head “No Woman, No Cry”, “Redemption Song”, and “Could you be Loved” during too many difficult/nerving times in my life for this to be a coincidence.

 16. I can not make it through to the end of “Whiskey Lullaby” by Brad Paisley w/ Alison Krauss and “Last Call” by Lee Ann Womack without first feeling sad and then mad and then just resigned that one day in the near future, I could very well attend Chris’ funeral….and there’s nothing I can do to change that.

 17. My favorite memory from my Grandmother’s funeral in 2007 occurred the night that we buried her.  My father and I drove out to see a family member’s new house.  We sang “Will the Circle be Unbroken” twice.  I had never listened to the lyrics before that night, but they fit that moment like no other song could. 

 18. I can water-ski.

 19.I smile every time I see a dog.

 20. I was 11 years old when I started my first official diet. I think it was “Nutrisystem”.

 21. The first Broadway play I ever saw was “Cats”.  I was about 9 years old.  My dad took me, my mother, and my grandmother to the Saenger Theater in New Orleans.

 22. My mom is really funny.  I enjoy going on trips with her and my MeMe because they really see the good times and humor in any situation.  Also, they both are more adventurous than I.  In Jamaica, they followed some woman into her house so she could serve us a meal.  Her house was a “restaurant” and I use that term lightly.  Mom and MeMe ordered food.  As a public health geek, I refused.  My mother made me taste the food before we left and it was FABULOUS….and they didn’t have food poisoning that night.

 23. I got the Norovirus on a cruise ship in 2004.  The highlight of that experience is that I got to fill out an official CDC outbreak investigation form and now my information is part of the CDC’s data…Again, I will remind you that I’m aware that I’m a public health geek.

 24. I went to the 2004 Bonnaroo concert.  It was the singular worst experience I have ever had.  I would do it over again in a heartbeat.  

 25. My secret wish for “when I grow up” is to be First Lady of our country.  I would push my child and adolescent public health agenda for (1) increasing mandatory scientifically proven physical education (PE) programs in schools as a way to teach ALL children how to be physically fit for a lifetime, (2) genetic issues and newborn screening, and (3) age appropriate reproductive and sexual health for adolescents. I think I would enjoy my time as first lady as my current activities dovetail nicely into my perception of the job duties.  My improv skills would come in handy on all those stump speeches and morning talk show interviews. I also have dealt with enough issues in my life to be relatable to most American women. As long as I could keep up training for my tri’s, I’d be all about it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

