Kinetic Sprint Race Report

Lake Anna State Park
05/10/09
Race Age: 30
Distance:
   750 Meter Swim
   18 Mile Bike
  5K Run

Overall: 2:45:01
Place: 216 out of 217 women finishers

750 Meter Swim: 19:44 (Pace: 2:24 per 100 yards)
TI: 4:26
18 Mile Bike: 1:29:33 (Pace: 12 miles per hour)
T2: 2:43
5K Run: 48:38 (Pace: 15:39 per mile)
 
Day before the race:
The day before was a busy one. Tara and I spent the first part of the day looking at apartments. That afternoon and early evening I was at a wedding. I drank more than I normally do, danced more than I normally do, and I ate wedding food….which is not the same as the salads I normally have before long training rides. I’m not sure how much the stress of apartment looking and the wedding activities affected my performance.

Morning of Race:
My friend Kim and her husband put me in their guest room/cycling room. Being with all their bikes is the best place for a girl to sleep the night before a race! We had a perfectly fine trip down…complete with coffee and warmed milk!

We checked in and I set up my transition area.  From there, I headed back to the Team Z tents to put down the rest of my gear and to put on my wetsuit.

IMG_0270

IMG_0287

Nelson manning the grille

IMG_0275

Getting ready to fight the battle of putting on my wetsuit!

Swim:
I was running a bit behind, so I did not get a pre swim in before the race. I did get into the water to get a layer of water between my body and the suit. This was a beach start. They said go, we went. The first time I put my head in the water, the cold took my breath away. I panicked for a about 20 seconds and then told myself to calm down. I focused on my strokes, counting them to myself. My grandmother tells me that bit by bit a lot gets done…before I knew it, I was at the end!

My goal was to finish in under 20 minutes. I did the swim in 19:44. Awesome! That’s 2:13 faster than I did this distance at General Smallwood…so that’s awesome!

IMG_0313

If I known there was a camera I would have ran instead of walked!

IMG_0312

Michelle and Rod are cheering for the swimmers while they wait for their relay members to come in from the swim.

T1:My goal was to finish in under 5 minutes. I did it in 4:26, which is 1:17 faster than Smallwood.

Bike:
This is where the wheels figuratively came off…I had a bit of some trouble getting started on the bike. The adrenaline from the swim had worn off. As I stood there, trying to get going, I was overwhelmed by how tired I suddenly felt. My Z-mate Mary was there to cheer us on. She was shouting out directions and finally my mind was able to figure it all out!

IMG_0336

Mary took my photo after directing my clipping in efforts

Once the jockeying for place and the cheering crowds were behind me, I had a sinking realization.  I was cranky and hungry.  I didn’t think about the fact that if I ate my breakfast at 6:00AM, by 9:30AM I would be starving…especially after a good hard swim.  Being hungry on the bike really messes with my head.  I have trouble combating the negative voices in my head.  I ate some extra shot blocks and started praying for the calories to kick in.

Instead, this intense shoulder pain kicked in.  Everytime I put weight on my arms, my right shoulder would seize up.  That sucked.  Especially because I was hungry!  I toughed out the ride, but had a really tough time on the hill at mile 11 to mile 13.  Coming back into the park was also harrowing.  There was traffic to deal with.  As I came into transition I almost got hit by a car that was turning into the parking lot.  The Set up people did not have anyone there to direct traffic.  Luckily, there were some bystanders who yelled at the driver to stop!  Thank you ladies for saving my rear!

My bike goal was to finish in 1:12 minutes by keeping a pace of 15 MPH.  I actually finished my ride in 1:29:33 by keeping a pace of 12 MPH.  At Smallwood I kept a pace of 13 MPH.   Now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever been able to keep a pace of 15 MPH, so I probably set myself up to not reach this goal. 

T2:My goal was to finish in under 4 minutes. I did it in 2:43, which is 39 seconds faster than Smallwood.

 Run:I was so excited to be off my bike, that I really LOVED being on the run!  I focused on keeping in zone 2 and did a fair amount of walking.   I finished my 5k in 48: 38 which was a respectable for me pace of 15:39 minute miles.  At Smallwood my 5k time was 47:19.  So it took me a minute and 19 seconds longer to do this run.  

Overall: My total time was 2 hours and 45 minutes.  My goal was to finish in under 2:30.  However, now that I think about it, that was not a realistic goal in light of my inability to bike as fast as I planned.   

Kinetic was not my favorite race. Now that I’ve looked over my times I see that they weren’t so bad in comparison to my other tris. What was hard about this race was the mental toughness needed to finish the bike.

Top Five Take Home Lessons:

  1. I did not wear any make-up!  I just feel better when wearing some mascara…make fun of me all you want…but I now know that I need to put on my game face for big tasks like racing!
  2. Eat no earlier than 1.5 hours before my race.
  3. Work on my core and spend more time in the saddle.
  4. Don’t change my bike fit the week before a race.
  5. Take it easy the day before the race.
3 Comments

Filed under Race Reports, Tri Training

3 responses to “Kinetic Sprint Race Report

  1. Way to finish strong! I know what it feels like to have some little thing throw a monkey wrench into your rhythm. Sounds like you fought through it though. Congrats!

  2. debbie

    Unrelated to your post, but here’s something to talk about at the next Team Z happy hour:
    http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/nva/mis/1198659525.html

  3. Oh, this has caused quite a stir on the Team listserv! The suspect has not identified himself, but someone did email the woman to get more information about the Team Z member. Everyone is on the lookout for someone with a circle shaped tattoo!

Leave a Reply

